You are here


Board of Directors

The Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority is a quasi-public agency created by the Rhode Island General Assembly to maintain and operate the Claiborne Pell Bridge connecting the towns of Newport and Jamestown, the Jamestown Verrazano connecting the towns of Jamestown and North Kingstown, the Mount Hope Bridge connecting the towns of Portsmouth and Bristol, and the Sakonnet River Bridge connecting the towns of Portsmouth and Tiverton Rhode Island.

The Authority is a body corporate and politic of the State with powers to construct, acquire, maintain, and operate bridge projects as defined by the law. The Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority is a component unit of the State of Rhode Island and the Governor appoints Authority members for a four (4) year term.



Stephen C. Waluk, Chairman

Mr. Waluk, a Newport native, was elected to the Newport City Council in 2001 when, at age 24, he became the youngest person ever to serve on the Council. He was sworn in as Mayor of Newport, R.I. in January 2007. He is presently the Chief Clerk of the Rhode Island District Court.

A 1999 graduate of Merrimack College, he attends St. Augustin’s Church and is a member of the Newport Knights of Columbus. In addition to serving on the R.I.T.B.A. Board, Mr. Waluk also serves on the boards of the Newport Lions Club and the Edward King House Senior Center.  He is a past board member of the Fort Adams Foundation, East Bay Habitat for Humanity, and the Newport Zoning Board of Review.

Mr. Waluk was appointed to the R.I.T.B.A. Board by Gov. Donald Carcieri, and his present term expires on April 1, 2017.


Judith M.  Morse


 Alviti image

Peter Alviti, Director, Rhode Island Department of Transportation 


Richard Humphrey, Esq.

Richard Humphrey, Esq., is a noted trial attorney and founder of the Law Offices of Richard S. Humphrey in Tiverton. He has served as the town solicitor for the Town of Little Compton for 25 years, and serves on the Rhode Island Supreme Court Disciplinary Board.

Mr. Humphrey is a seasoned trial attorney who concentrates his practice in admiralty, DUI, professional malpractice, and catastrophic injury law. He is admitted to the bars of Rhode Island, Maine, and Massachusetts and admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. First Circuit Court of Appeals, and the U.S. District Courts for the Districts of Rhode Island, Maine, and Massachusetts.

An expert in dispute resolution, Mr. Humphrey is an arbitrator and member of the R.I. Superior Court Arbitration Program, and has served as an arbitrator/mediator for the R.I. Supreme Court, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Inc., the R.I. Builders Association, and the American Arbitration Association, where he also served on its Construction Industry Panel of Arbitrators. 

During his career, he has volunteered his time and expertise to a number of civic, charitable and legal organizations including the R.I. Bar Foundation, the Commission on Judicial Tenure and Discipline, and the Rhode Island Bar Association. 

He is a graduate of Connecticut College, and the Franklin Pierce Law Center at the University of New Hampshire. 

Mr. Humphrey was appointed to the RITBA Board by Gov. Lincoln Chafee and his present term expires on April 1, 2018.


Darrell Waldron

Mr. Waldron's present term expires on April 1, 2016.



RITBA Administration



Buddy Croft, Executive Director


Maggie R. Baker, Chief Financial Officer


Eric Offenberg, P.E., LEED AP, Director of Engineering

 M. Bonsignore

Michael Bonsignore, Chief Technical Officer

 Kathi O'Connor

Kathryn G. O’Connor, Director of Electronic Tolling

James Romano

James R. Romano, Director of Maintenance